Private areas
Private areas access

Home News Coop News


Membership of the Alliance in the Americas continues to grow

31 October 2015

Co-operatives of the Americas is pleased to welcome the Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions as a new member of the International Cooperative Alliance. With the affiliation of CCCU, now members of the Alliance in the Americas reached 101 organizations from 21 countries.

The Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions (CCCU) was established on 17th August 1972 in Dominica, as the successor of the West Indies Conference of Credit Societies (WICCS) and serves as the apex trade and development organization for financial and non-financial co operatives in the Caribbean.

Essentially, the Confederation monitors economic and financial trends in the region and the world and assists affiliates to articulate clearly their own individual roles as they enhance and advance the co-operative difference. The CCCU also stimulates and generates knowledge exchange through discussions on issues impacting Credit Unions and other Co-operatives, so that the goals and vision of the Movement can be realised.

Individual members 2012: 1,940,668
Individual members 2011: 1,892,539
Member societies 2012: 239
Turnover 2012: USD 1,622,722 (EUR 1,297,480)

CCCU Affiliate countries are from the English and Dutch-speaking Caribbean and include: Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

This organisation is eligible as a full Member (supranational), but has elected to become an Associate Member for a test period of 3-5 years, due to the higher cost of full membership.

The new Alliance membership global statistics are therefore: 287 member organisations (242 Members and 45 Associate Members from 94 countries), 35% of which belong to the region of the Americas.

Related contents